Oz Tabletop Gaming
Sign in to follow this  
Krefey

Painting techniques

I will preface this by saying that I am by no means an expert painter.  I just haven't put the hours in behind all the techniques that will be outlined below to master them.  I have done quite a lot of research into the various techniques over the years as I've tried to learn and develop new skills and improve my painting though.  This is a distillation of that experience and research in one place that I hope will help other hobbyists.

There are a wide range of painting techniques that can be used to achieve different effects.  You don't need to be a pro painter to try out these various methods, but you do need to keep practicing them in order to improve and get the techniques perfected.  As with all skills it takes regular practice to improve.  Something that is handy to get to grips with for developing your painting is colour theory (which will help with colour choices, mixing colours etc), but that is a separate topic in itself.

To start some basic terms

Base coat - this is the initial colour(s) you place on the model.  As you try different techniques, you'll likely find you are using more colours to get the initial base coat done.

Shading - this is the term used for making areas on a model darker

Highlighting - this is the term used for making areas on the model lighter

Ferrule - This is the metal piece between the handle of the brush and the bristles.  It's what keeps all the bristles in place.  It's important to keep paint out of the ferrule, as once paint gets in there and dries up, it's a sure fire way to ruin your brush, no matter how cheap or expensive the brush is!